Adobe Premiere Project (Rough Draft)

For my Adobe Premiere project I decided to create a fake documentary in which I document a personal account about a person’s experiences with group showers. My project relates to my course topic because the overlying theme of my blog is communal/group showers, and my video illustrates a personal account to them.

I wanted my video to seem exaggerated and have a numerous effect to it. I was inspired by shows such as The Office and American Vandal and wanted to created my own documentary style video for my project. Casey Neistat’s vlog posts also inspired me which is why I believe my video has a vlog sense to it.

For my design process, I first began by brainstorming ideas I could do for the video. After narrowing down my topic, I then create a storyboard for my video. The storyboard ended up being a rough draft and more of guide for my project, as I did not follow it completely. It was, however, a great way to get my filming started.

After creating the storyboard, I then began the filming process. I made sure to film more than I needed. I took shots of the group shower, the walkway, and multiple interviews with my friends to give myself enough flexibility in the editing process. After all the filming I then gathered the audio files I needed and recorded my voice for the narration. All the filming and audio recording was done on my iPhone 7 with a little tri-pod.

Once I imported all my files to premier, I began editing. I started with by cutting bits and pieces of my video files and dragging them on the story board. I use the cut tool and drag tool to get the video files where I liked. Once the video was as I liked, I then began dragging on the audio files. I used the same procedure for the video files as the audio files.

Some of my audio was louder than I liked so I used the Audio Gain tool to adjust the volumes accordingly. After my audio and video was substantial for me I then began adding video affects and transitions. I primarily used the fade to black for my video transitions and exponential fade for my audio.

I experienced very little technical difficulties while creating my video. Anything I had trouble with I was able to resolve by looking up videos on YouTube or reviewing the tutorials.

All the materials used in the project were created by me except for the instrumental in the background at the beginning and ending of the video.

Soundtrack: Time’s Flying by Dlay. Retrieved from http://freemusicarchive.org/genre/Downtempo/.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Adobe Premiere Project (Rough Draft)

  1. My Personal Feedback,
    At the time I was reviewing rough drafts of peoples projects, no feedback had been posted on my blog except for the personal feedback my TA gave me on Blackboard. However, upon posting my rough draft I had already reviewed areas for improvement in my video. My TA suggested taking advantage of the extra 50 seconds I had in my video to add more to the story I presented which I had thought about doing in my rough draft but ran out of time. I will most likely do this to improve the overall quality of my video. I will also try to apply more of the knowledge we learned in the tutorial to my video, as suggested by my TA, and I believe this improve my final draft. Over all, I was very please with how my rough draft turned out, especially since I put so much time into it, and I am excited to see how my final turns out.

    Like

  2. This was an awesome video! I don’t have anything to say that you could change. I think Casey Neistat is one of the best Youtube vlogers ever and I could see where it looks like a vlog. I think maybe make the voice hear more or maybe lower the music. This is a great and funny video. Maybe take out some of the black screens and add more into it. Other than that, it was great. Awesome job!

    Like

  3. I absolutely love this out-of-the-ordinary topic chosen for your blog. This is a topic I feel would be one to create a humorous and informative video about, which is exactly what you did. The effects used go along well with the topic of the video. A few effects are added in that relate and fall into it well. Some recommendations would have to do with the short interview part. The cut scenes do go well with what the interviewee is saying, but what the individual is saying is kind of broad on the topic of communal showers. Maybe just have them expand on their experiences, like the things they “can’t comprehend”. Lastly, some of the black screens used between a few of the scenes is a little lengthy, as if you were struggling to meet the time limit (you’re definitely not alone on this though). Maybe have another individual talk about their communal shower experience to expand the length of the video. Other than that, I wish I saw your blog earlier, and everything is tied together nicely.

    Like

Leave a comment