My Reflection of Com 210

The Com 210 course may have been one of my most favorite classes that I have taken while in college, and I truly mean that. I plan on going down an advertising or content creating career path, so this class has been exceptionally helpful and interesting to my field of study.

During the semester, my favorite projects were the graphic design project using Adobe Photoshop and the Adobe Premiere video project. Both Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Premiere are two programs I wish to excel with in the future so it was enjoyable for me to receive basic knowledge and skills of how to use these two programs. Also, I felt I was the most creative in both of these projects and received the most joy from creating these projects compared to the other two.

Throughout the course of the semester I learned many valuable skills which I will use in my future and career path. While reflecting on the course I realized that every unit taught me useful skills which I will use in my future and down my career path. I was taught how to create and edit photos and images using Adobe Photoshop which I will use for my own personal use and for my career since in the field of advertising I will be required to create media that will appeal to consumers. During the second unit of Com 210 I also learned how to create my own, personalized logo. This will be essential in my career path because logos are how consumers identify with a brand or company.

During the third and fourth unit of this course, I learned how to film, edit and export video and audio footage using Adobe Audition and Adobe Premiere. In the future, I would like to have my own podcast, which makes having knowledge of using Adobe Audition very useful. For my career path, I plan on making video advertisements for businesses and organizations. The skills I learned from the Com 210 course will be extremely vital for my future down this path along with my own personal use in the future.

Maybe one of the most essential skills taught to me during this course was how to properly find content I could use without committing copyright infringement. With how accessible media is currently, it can be easy to copyright a piece of work unknowingly if you do not know the proper procedures and licensing involved with using media in your own work. Having more knowledge about license laws, like the creative commons license, will be extremely useful in my future of content creating.

Due to the limited time there is during a semester to learn information, there was little to nothing I was left wishing I had learn from the course. However, I do wish there was more time to practice the techniques and skills of each program to learn more mastery of Adobe. The Com 210 course achieved in me a desire to learn more about the Adobe programs and to continue practicing with each software.

If I ever was struggling with the Adobe programs and needed extra help, I could always go to YouTube. This was a great place to get more in depth tutorials of how to use each of the four programs used in the Com 210 course. Also, for my video project I wanted to add an instrumental soundtrack in the background of the video and Free Music Archive was a great place to download music that was free to use as by the Creative Common license.

Overall, I am very pleased with the Com 210 course. It provided me with many valuable skills I will use my future for personal uses and my career path.

The links to my outside sources can be found below:

https://freemusicarchive.org/

https://www.youtube.com/

 

Leave a comment